Page 5 - Annual Report_15-16
P. 5

Telangana State Public Service Commission

                       The State of Telangana came into existence on 02  June, 2014 under the
               Re-organisation of Andhra Pradesh Act 2014. The Telangana State Public Service
               Commission  was  constituted  under  the  provisions  of  the  Article  315  of  the

               Constitution of India by the Governor of Telangana on 8  August 2014 and came
               into existence with effect from 18  December, 2014. Prof. Ghanta Chakrapani is the
               first  Chairman  of  the  Commission.  The  Commission  is discharging its  duties  and

               functions as enunciated under Article 320. Within a short span of one year, TSPSC
               has introduced a series of initiatives to ensure free and fair recruitment process with

               the highest level of transparency at each stage of selection.

                                                   1. FUNCTIONS

                       The Commission has to conduct examinations for appointment of candidates

               to various categories of posts in the State Government.  The  statutory functions of
               the Commission fall under the following Heads:

                       1.  Direct Recruitment
                       2.  Approval of Statutory Rules relating to State and Subordinate Services

                       3.  Recruitment by Transfer/Promotions
                       4.  Disciplinary Cases

               The Commission is also entrusted with the following additional items of work:-

                     1.  Conduct of Departmental Tests twice in a year.

                     2.  Conduct of Entrance Examination for Admission of Boys to the Rashtriya
                         Indian Military College (RIMC), Dehradun twice in a year.

                     3.  Conduct of Half Yearly Examinations for the All India Service Officers twice
                         in a year.

                     4.  Watching  the  temporary  appointments  in  Government  Departments  and
                         according concurrence for continuation of the same.

   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10